• Home
  • ACMS Ethics Comittee

Army College of Medical Sciences (ACMS) was established in 2008 under the aegis of the Army Welfare Education Society for the benefit of wards of serving and retired military personnel. It is affiliated to the Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi.
The formal Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) of ACMS was founded in March 2015 under the guidance of our present Dean, Maj Gen. N.C. Arora, VSM. The First meeting of IEC was held on 8th July 2015. This committee incorporates institution specific Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) based on Indian Council of Medical Research recommendations, New Delhi in collaboration with WHO India Country Office. These SOPs have tried to accommodate for any future expansion of the institution, and may undergo modifications as the institution grows.
The objective of this IEC is to ensure quality and consistency in review of clinical research proposals and to follow the ICMR and National Ethical Guidelines for Biomedical Research on Human Subjects 2006. This body was established to review and monitor health research involving human subjects. The primary purpose is the protection of the rights and welfare of the human subjects. The IEC has the authority to approve, disapprove or request modifications to the concerned research work.


The IEC has been reconstituted on May 2016 with the induction of a New Chairman and few new members. The fifth and sixth meetings of IEC were held on 13th and 18 May 2016 respectively.


The following is the constitution of the Current Institutional Ethics Committee:

Chairman: Maj Gen. Manomoy Ganguly, VSM, MG Medical, Head Quarters , Delhi Area , New Delhi.
Member Secretary: Dr Charu Mohan, Associate Professor, Dept of Medicine, ACMS.
Col Karuna Datta , Professor, Dept of Physiology, ACMS – Basic scientist- Member
Dr Sharmila Dudani, Professor, Dept of Pathology, ACMS – Basic Scientist- Member
Dr Sapna Pradhan, Associate Prof, Dept of Pharmacology, ACMS – Basic Sientist – Member

Dr Manisha Arora, Assistant Prof, Dept of Community Medicine, ACMS – Member

Dr Deepak Rath , Assistant Prof, Dept of Medicine, ACMS – Clinician- Member

Lt. Col. VK Tiwari, Staff Officer, Med, HQ Delhi area – Educated Lay Person
Dr. Neelu Panag Khanna, Freelance Counsellor, ACMS – Social Scientist

Maj. Jitender Singh OIC, Legal cell, High Court, Delhi – Legal expert
Subject Experts:
Dr Ashwini Sethi Associate Prof, Dept of Otorhinolaryngology, ACMS.
Dr Parikshit Gopal, Associate Prof, Dept of Orthopaedics, ACMS.
Dr Priyanka Banerjee, Assistant Prof, Dept of Microbiology, ACMS
Mrs Garima Baradia, Assistant Prof, Dept of Biochemistry, ACMS.